Our Governors

We are a group of local residents and parents of the school who have an interest in the school as an important local institution.

Our aim is to work with the staff in helping each child to achieve his or her full potential within a happy and supportive environment.

Our Governing Body (GB) works together with the Head and staff to oversee all aspects of school life including staffing, finance, premises, curriculum, compliance with legislation and policy, forward planning and, together with our Local Authority advisor, to monitor the standards of achievement of our children.

Sytchampton is a Voluntary Aided school, supported by the Lloyds Educational Foundation – a local charitable organisation that also supports Ombersley First School.

Who are our Governors?

Dr P Jain Chair of Governors, Local Authority Governor

Mrs C Brogan Acting Headteacher

Mrs A Baylis Vice Chair, Parent Governor

Mr D Simpson Parent Governor
Mrs J Fairlamb Staff Governor

Miss A Fischer-Lee
Mr P Adams
Lloyds Foundation Governor
Dr B Kamalarajan
Lloyds Foundation Governor
Mr D Bishop
Lloyds Foundation Governor
Mr S Sharpe
Lloyds Foundation Governor
Lloyds Foundation Governor
Lloyds Foundation Governor
Vacancy
Lloyds Foundation Governor

Mrs Jenny Bishop Associate Member
Mrs Jane Lawson Clerk to Governors

What is the role of a Governor?

Governors are a group of volunteers who include parents, staff and members of the local community who either have a connection with the school or particular skills that are useful for the running of the school.

Being a governor takes quite a lot of time but our close association with the school is incredibly rewarding, especially when we are involved with the implementation of important changes.

Our main role is to promote ongoing improvements in standards throughout the school. We work with the Headteacher and staff to plan the school's long-term direction and to evaluate progress. We help to set the school's aims and values. Many of our responsibilities carry a statutory requirement. This means that we are obliged by law to do things such as agree the annual budget and to conform with appropriate training with respect to issues such as safeguarding.

Our role is sometimes described as 'critical friend'. This does not mean that we are here to criticise the Head or the school. Instead, we try to ask useful questions to gain a greater understanding of the school and to foster an ethos of continual improvement.

Most of us have not been a school governor prior to our appointment but new governors are given a Handbook that details the expectation of their role and a mentor to help them in their early days. There is a programme of evening courses on offer for all governors, both enabling us to keep up to date in our chosen areas of interest and to introduce new governors to their role. We encourage all of our governors to participate in these.

How do we operate?

The GB divides into two main committees. The membership depends on the interests and skills of the individuals.

The **Finance, Premises and Personnel Committee** oversees the school's finances, looks after the premises and agrees staffing arrangements and salaries. This committee meets twice each term.

Members of this are: Mr P Adams (Chair), Mrs C Brogan, Mr Simpson, Mr S Sharpe and Mrs A Fischer-Lee

The committee discusses the school's finances and is instrumental in agreeing how future income is to be deployed.

The **Teaching and Learning Committee** oversees the quality of our teaching and learning within the school. Their role is to contribute to providing a high standard of education for our children here at Sytchampton. The Committee is particularly interested in standards achieved by the children, both with respect to the progress or individual pupils and overall standards achieved, compared to similar schools nationwide. The committee members question the Head in order to verify the results presented to the committee.

Member of this committee are: Mr D Bishop (Chair), Mrs C Brogan, Dr B Kamalarajan, Dr P Jain, Mrs A Baylis, Mrs J Fairlamb, Mrs E Gibbs

Individual governors have particular responsibilities for different areas within the school, according to their special interests.

Some of these are:

Dr B Kamalarajan Safeguarding

Mrs A Baylis English/History/Geography

Dr P Jain Maths

Mr D Simpson Health & Safety

Mr D Bishop Science & PE, Safeguarding (Deputy)

Mrs A Fischer-Lee Behaviour & Safety, Mental Health & Well-being

Mrs E Gibbs SEND, LAC & Pupil Premium

These governors visit the school at appropriate times to check on their own areas of interest and to monitor specific areas of progress related to the agreed School Development Plan. They then report their findings to the GB.

How often do we meet?

The full Governing Body meet once per term, although there are sometimes extra meetings convened when necessary.

The Teaching and Learning committee also meet once per term. The Finance Premises and Personnel committee meet twice per term. There are also occasional meetings of the Steering Committee.

How do you contact us?

Members of the Governing Body can be contacted via the school office or parent members can be contacted on the playground.

Dr Pinky Jain Chair of Governors